



For Immediate Release: February 11, 2025 Contact:

Jim Barry Howard Gensler 609-963-1975

Murphy Administration Announces High Bridge Borough in Hunterdon County as the 36th State Transit Village Initiative promotes mixed-use development and Complete Streets accommodations near transit facilities

(Trenton) – The Murphy Administration today announced that High Bridge Borough in Hunterdon County has been designated as a Transit Village, making it the 36th municipality to be recognized since the initiative began in 1999.

The state's <u>Transit Village Initiative</u> connects designated municipalities with a <u>task force comprised of 9</u> <u>state agencies</u> that help implement mixed-use development and <u>Complete Streets</u> accommodations near transit facilities. The agencies that make up the Transit Village Task Force, which includes the New Jersey Department of Transportation (NJDOT) and NJ TRANSIT, can provide funding and technical assistance through their programs to municipalities that have been designated as a Transit Village.

"To receive a Transit Village designation, municipalities must create redevelopment plans that promote economic activity around public transportation," NJDOT Commissioner Fran O'Connor said. "High Bridge's plan to spur new business activity in its downtown area with more clean options – walking, cycling, and mass transit – will enhance the quality of life for residents, and make High Bridge safer and greener."

High Bridge's primary objective in its Transit Village District is to preserve and encourage a walkable, bikeable and transit-friendly environment to improve the downtown area and create a vibrant community complete with jobs, housing, recreation, entertainment, and multiple modes of transportation. The High Bridge Rail Station, located on Main Street, is the western terminus on the NJ TRANSIT Raritan Valley Line, which takes passengers to and from Newark's and Manhattan's Penn Stations.

The NJDOT-administered Transit Village Initiative provides participating municipalities with planning expertise and grant opportunities to redevelop land near train or other transit facilities in a way that promotes economic activity and the use of public transportation.

Transit Village designation provides:

- State of New Jersey commitment to the municipality's redevelopment vision
- Coordination and technical assistance among state agencies that comprise the Transit Village Task Force
- Priority consideration for certain funding opportunities

New Jersey's first Transit Village was designated in 1999. The roster now includes Pleasantville, Morristown, Rutherford, South Amboy, South Orange, Riverside, Rahway, Metuchen, Belmar, Collingswood, Bloomfield, Bound Brook, Cranford, Matawan, New Brunswick, Journal Square/Jersey City, Netcong, Elizabeth, Burlington City, Orange, Somerville, Montclair, Linden, West Windsor, East Orange, Dunellen, Summit, Plainfield, Park Ridge, Irvington, Hackensack, Long Branch, Asbury Park, Newark, Atlantic City, and now, High Bridge.

The Department has programmed \$1 million in the Fiscal Year 2025 Capital Program to provide funding on a competitive basis to the 36 municipalities designated as Transit Villages. In FY24, the Governor and Legislature provided an additional \$1.6 million allowing eight municipalities to receive grants. Applications for Transit Village designation are accepted on a rolling basis and reviewed by the Transit Village Task Force. The task force reviews applications and makes recommendations to the NJDOT Commissioner, who has final approval of Transit Village designations.

For NJDOT news follow us on X (Twitter) <u>@NewJerseyDOT</u>, on the <u>NJDOT Facebook page</u>, or Instagram <u>@NewJersey.DOT</u>.

#